BECOMING A STAR : RISE OF JESSE MONTANA FOR OBVIOUS MAGAZINE

JMONTANA_37

Brian Stewart converses with Jesse Montana about his rise to stardom as an artist.

After arriving in Los Angeles to pursue a career in music, Jesse Montana found himself on both sides of the Hollywood’s red carpet–first as a celebrity stylist and then a reality TV star himself. If there was any indication that he was destined to be successful, it’s his work ethic–coupled with his passion and creativity–that fuels him as a stylist, actor, and singer.

Before Jesse began working as a celebrity stylist in Beverly Hills Meche Salon–styling clients like Paris Hilton, girl band GRL, Katie Stevens, Jessica Alba, Julia Lewis Dreyfus, Chrissy Teigen, and Scheana Maria Shay from BRAVO’s hit reality series Vanderpump Rules–he was chasing a music career.  After recognizing music was his passion at the age of 15–after learning how to play the guitar and writing his first song “Love Me Back”–Jesse was hooked“…I was scouted by a manager in high school and came out to California for a summer to be in a boyband called Diverse. After the group disbanded, I turned to social media [which] was an amazing launching point for me.”

Staying true to his gift, he covered songs that landed him in the company of various influential people helped him book his first gig and write his first song off of his EP, “Drunk On You” which was produced by Grammy award-winning producer, Infinity.  As they say, the rest is history, or as Jesse’s says “That was kind where everything started to blow up.”

Brian Stewart: What brought you to LA?

Jesse Montana: When I was younger, I always dreamed of living in dreamy California so that I could pursue music in Los Angeles. Along the way, I ended up going to school and getting a cosmetology license to become a stylist because I was thrown into a very high-end styling world when I was in Seattle that showed me the many ways I could make a life for myself if music never worked out. Thankfully enough, I landed the best job possible as a celebrity stylist at the world-renowned Meche Salon in Beverly Hills. I worked there a couple of days a week which gave me time throughout the week to tour and make music. I wouldn’t’ had it any other way. I felt so blessed.

BS: What’s the story behind your name “Jesse Montana”? is it that your real name?

JM: Currently I am California living, but I will forever be Montana born and raised. I got so lucky growing up in such a beautiful city like Missoula. It was small enough where you knew everybody, yet big, progressive and special enough to give me the humble and broad beginnings that paved the way for who I am today. I love the big sky country state so much. My name is an homage to my hometown love.

 

Read the rest of the interview at Obvious Magazine

 

Photographer // Malcom Bacani Luvgen Studio

@luvgenstudio

 

JMONTANA_17

JMONTANA_23

Leave a Reply

